Comprehension of Light

by Dmitry Evgrafov on 130701

Released 06/10/2017

Hugely talented and entirely self-taught, young Moscow-based pianist / composer Dmitry Evgrafov signed to FatCat’s hugely influential 130701 imprint in 2015, releasing the album ‘Collage’. Two years on, ‘Comprehension Of Light’ album marks a big step forward for the artist. A must-hear for fans of fellow 130701 alumni Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka, the LP is Dmitry’s first ever vinyl release and is a wonderfully conceived and realised work. Where ‘Collage’ was heavily augmented with an expansive use of electronics and virtual instrumentation, the new album sees Dmitry upgrade to real strings / orchestral instrumentation with a more limited use of software. Iskra String Quartet (The XX, Radiohead, Jóhann Jóhannsson) contributed strings. Other contributors include William Yates (Memotone), Abul Mogard and Benoit Pîoulard. It was mixed by Addi 800 (Ólafur Arnalds) and mastered by Martyn Heyne (Nils Frahm, Peter Broderick, The National and others).

In places recalling Jóhann Jóhannsson and Hauschka, in others the work of Leyland Kirby / The Caretaker, or Eduard Artemiev's score for Tarkovsky’s ‘Stalker’, 'Comprehension' is a stunning album which traces a redemptive narrative arc and bears witness to a rising young talent in the field of modern composition.

LP includes dig download card (inc. 2 dig-only tracks which don't appear on the vinyl)

Read More

  • LP

    Standard weight vinyl with printed card inner sleeve and download coupon (including 2 non-vinyl tracks)

    LP13-27 — £14.99
    Add to Cart
  • WAV (24-bit)

    DA13-27 — £7.99
    Add to Cart
  • MP3 (320KPS)

    DA13-27 — £6.99
    Add to Cart


  1. A Gleam
  2. Tamas
  3. Ungrounded
  4. Wandering
  5. Rajas
  6. Through The Gloom (Digitial Only)
  7. A Chance To Change
  8. First Crop
  9. Kintsukuroi (feat. Benoît Pioulard) (Digital Only)
  10. Znanie (feat. Abul Mogard)
  11. Rootedness
  12. Sattva

More by this artist

You may also like...

Track Title